Arbore

The Land of the Bulls

The continent overwhelms to the extent that it eludes logic; it grabs us by its excessiveness and consumes us more quickly.
Jaques Richard Molard

Ar - bore

We are the bulls of the land

„Ar“ means bull, „Bore“ is the ground. A bull is a powerful animal. It is the chief of the herd. He leads and defends it. This is exactly how the Arbore see themselves. They are the bulls of the land in southwestern Ethiopia. They are strong, they take care of the piece of earth on and from which they live. The approximately 4,000 people live from field farming and their herds. In the floodplain of the Woito River, they cultivate sorghum twice a year. Their pride and joy, however, are their cattle.

 

 

 

 

Stories from researches since 1993

Experiences and perspectives

 

 

bamira

Initiated friendship

The first time I was in Ethiopia in 1993. I was studying social anthropology and did field research among the Arbore people for my degree. During my first stay there, I was assigned a Bamira. Bamira means best friend or soul sister. Rufo, my Bamira, and I did not choose each other. Rufo was chosen for me by the village elders and in return I was made to be her Bamira. It was my initiation into their society.

My Bamira and I became truly friends with the passing of time, with all the ups and downs that such a friendship between two people of completely different cultures must inevitably have. With her help, I became integrated into a family. So I was able to accompany, observe and question its individual members in their daily activities. Today, when I come to Arbore, I visit friends.

3 Perspectives

Who they are, what they are like and what else there is in Ethiopia

Kutchas_Frau_melken2
Arbore People
Braut_Vaeter_k
Texts and Photos
wasserfall
A different Ethiopia

 

 

I AM

Researcher, Observer, Narrator

Arbore

Das Land der Bullen

Der Kontinent überwältigt in dem Maß, wie er sich der Logik entzieht; er packt durch seine Maßlosigkeit und verbraucht uns rascher.
Jaques Richard Molard

Ar - bore

Wir sind die Bullen des Landes

„Ar“ bedeutet Bulle, „Bore“ ist das Land. Ein Bulle ist ein kraftvolles Tier. Er ist der Kopf der Herde. Er führt und verteidigt sie. Genau so sehen sich die Arbore. Sie sind die Bullen des Landes im Südwesten Äthiopiens. Sie sind stark, sie kümmern sich um das Stück Erde, auf und von dem sie leben. Die rund 4.000 Menschen leben vom Feldbau und ihren Herden. Im Schwemmland des Woito-Flusses bauen sie zweimal im Jahr Sorghum an. Ihr Stolz sind jedoch ihre Rinder.

 

 

 

 

Geschichten aus Forschungen seit 1993

Erfahrungen und Blickwinkel

 

 

bamira

Initiierte Freundschaft

Das erste Mal war ich 1993 in Äthiopen. Ich studierte Ethnologie und machte bei den Arbore eine Feldforschung für meinen Abschluss. Bei meinem ersten Aufenthalt dort wurde mir eine Bamira zugeteilt. Bamira bedeutet beste Freundin oder Sinnesschwester. Rufo, meine Bamira, und ich haben einander nicht ausgesucht. Rufo wurde von den Dorfältesten für mich bestimmt und im Gegenzug wurde ich zu ihrer Bamira gemacht. Es war meine Initiation in ihre Gesellschaft.

Meine Bamira und ich wurden mit der Zeit wirklich zu Freundinnen, mit all den Höhen und Tiefen, die solch eine Freundschaft zwischen zwei Menschen gänzlich fremder Kulturen zwangsläufig haben muss. Mit ihrer Hilfe wurde ich in eine Familie integriert und konnte so ihre einzelnen Mitglieder bei ihren alltäglichen Arbeiten begleiten, beobachten und ausfragen. Wenn ich heute nach Arbore komme, besuche ich Freunde.

3 Blickwinkel

Wer sie sind, wie sie sind und was es sonst in Äthiopien gibt

Kutchas_Frau_melken2
Die Arbore
Braut_Vaeter_k
Texte und Fotos
wasserfall
Ein anderes Äthiopien

 

 

ICH BIN

Forscherin, Beobachterin, Erzählerin